Interfaith Weddings

Interfaith Weddings

“I appreciate any organization or individual people who sincerely make an effort to promote harmony between humanity, and particularly harmony between the various religions. I consider it very sacred work and very important work” The 14th Dalai Llama

Interfaith Defined

Interfaith is a state of mind that works to build bridges between differing belief systems by acknowledging our similarities, our equality, and celebrating our diversity. With a universal outlook, interfaith dialogue seeks to understand and accept the differences amongst humanity and to realize that the common thread between all humanity is love. Interfaith philosophy does not take sides, but rather listens deeply with an open heart to the needs and desires of one another. Then seeks to find ways to express their similarities and differences with love and compassion.

What is an interfaith wedding ceremony?

When a couple comes from two or more religious faith traditions, we honor the faiths in a harmonious and balanced ceremony focusing on the positive similarities and differences with deep honor and respect. Sometimes couples of two faiths choose to have a co-officiant from each faith, sometimes with a representative from one faith leading the ceremony and involving members of the family and community to participate in the other tradition. The interfaith ceremony incorporates music, words and ritual in a way that is inclusive, welcoming and focuses on the love and common elements that brings the couple together. Categorized in three types; Co-officiated, blended service two officiants and two ceremonies or a single ceremony with one officiant incorporating both faiths.


Jewish Catholic
Jewish Episcopalian
Jewish Presbyterian
Jewish German Lutheran
Jewish Methodist
Jewish Baptist
Jewish Unitarian
Jewish Buddhist
Jewish Hindu
Jewish Muslim
Jewish Bahai
Jewish Unity



Jewish Weddings Basics

The most popular marriage traditions and customs associated with Jewish ceremony are the Chuppah [wedding canopy], Ketubah [marriage contract], Kiddush [wine blessing], Ring exchange, Sheva Brachot [Seven Wedding Blessings] and the Breaking of the Glass. As in many cultures there are numerous regional and family customs that can be incorporated. Over the years, we’ve created the following types of Jewish ceremonies; Traditional, Reform, Humanist, Sephardic, Egalitarian, Same Gender, Mystical, and Earth-based.